Image of book cover of Mexican Americans in Wichita's North End.

The book “Mexican Americans in Wichita’s North End” was recognized as the 2022 Best History Book at the International Latino Book Awards Aug. 20 which took place in Los Angeles The book documents the history of the Mexican American community in the Wichitan neighborhood known as the North End or El Pueblo.

The book was authored by Wichita State professors Dr. Jay Price, Department of History professor and chair, and Dr. Enrique Navarro, Latin American and LatinX Studies certificate coordinator and associate professor of Spanish, and Anita Mendoza, WSU alumna and community leader.

Congratulations Alicia Sanchez on being a champion of diversity & inclusion! 2022 Diversity & Inclusion Awards presented by Wichita Business Journal

Alicia Sanchez—Office of Diversity and Inclusion assistant dean of students and director—was recognized as one of the 2022 Diversity and Inclusion Award recipients by the Wichita Business Journal Aug. 18.

The award honors Wichitans who work hard at making their companies, and the city’s business community, more diverse. The two received awards at the annual banquet, hosted at the Hyatt Regency.

Congratulations Dr. Bobby Berry on being a champion of diversity and inclusion! 2022 Diversity & Inclusion Awards presented by Wichita Business Journal

Dr. Bobby Berry—Office of Diversity and Inclusion diversity and inclusion faculty fellow and assistant dean for diversity and outreach in College of Applied Studies—was recognized as one of the 2022 Diversity and Inclusion Award recipients by the Wichita Business Journal Ambassadors for Diversity and Inclusion event.

The award honors Wichitans who work hard at making their companies, and the city’s business community, more diverse.

Image of members attending CMB and Barton Business School Conference.

The Center for Management Development (CMD) and the Barton School of Business recently hosted the 50th Anniversary of the Wichita Property Tax Conference. Almost 400 appraisers, assessors, attorneys, consultants and property tax experts from across the U. S. attended. During the event, members participated in four days of educational and inspirational workshops at Hubbard Hall and infused more than $2,500,000 into the local economy.

 The members of the conference are grateful to the following team members who made the conference a huge success:

  • Pat McLeod, former CMD Director, and current Conference Director worked many hours with the Wichita Property Tax Conference Planning Committee and the CMD team to make the conference an outstanding success.
  • Wilma Hart, former CMD Coordinator, and current conference team member arranged for and coordinated the complex logistical tasks of people movement, among many other responsibilities.
  • Paula Seiwert, Associate Director of the CMD, planned and executed outstanding marketing and promotional materials to educate and persuade professionals to attend.
  • Melissa Donham, Director of Operations for the CMD, coordinated IT tasks while tracking financials and keeping the books current.
  • Tracy Rittmueller, Registrar of the CMD, coordinated participant registrations, food and beverage services, and contributions from other vendors and WSU professionals.

And a loud “thank you” to the excellent service from our WSU partners:

  • Facility Services
  • Chartwell’s catering team
  • Shocker Printing
  • MRC Team
  • Parking Services
  • Event Services
  • Post Office

WSU’s Counseling and Prevention Services (CAPS) continues to serve the campus community and beyond through its Suspenders4Hope program, which was recently highlighted on the national “Frontline Industry Podcast” for its work with the Thrive Restaurant Group. Listen here or wherever you get your podcasts.

Dr. Voncella McCleary-Jones, associate dean for the College of Health Professions, has been selected to be inducted into the 2022 class of fellows of the American Academy of Nursing. Through a competitive application process, 250 distinguished nurse leaders were selected to be inducted into the Academy based on their contributions to advance public health. The inductees will be recognized at the academy’s annual Health Policy Conference in October in Washington, DC.

The focus of Dr. McCleary-Jones’ work is health literacy — improving the knowledge of practitioners and health outcomes and informing research of national and international colleagues in nursing and other disciplines.

Dr. Elledge, Dr. Evans and Dr. May pose with the 2022 Sandra Mitchell Memorial Award for Community Service.

The American Board of General Dentistry recognized Dr. Tommy Vu, Dr. Megan Casserly, and the Wichita State Advanced Education in General Dentistry program for the 2022 Sandra Mitchell Memorial Award for Community Service.

This recognition is for community service by a dental graduate resident in providing dental services to the underserved or community education and outreach.

Usha Haley, W. Frank Barton Distinguished Chair in International Business and professor of management, was a featured speaker at the Academy of Management (AOM) annual meetings on Aug. 8.

The AOM is the largest, oldest, and most prestigious association of management scholars in the world.

The panel — Measuring Real-World Impact of Scholarly Research — will answer the question: How are academic scholars turning their insights and career work into solutions for society’s problems? in addition to Haley, it will feature Jen Bartunek of Boston College, Carol Kulik of the University of South Australia, and Leon Prieto of Clayton State University.

Dr. Mercy Umeri, assistant teaching professor at the Hugo Wall School of Public Affairs at Wichita State University., wrote about the Nigerian public education system in Leadership News, a leading newspaper in Nigeria. In the article, she challenges the leaders and elected officials to look into the educational system and make the needed changes for the country.

“One of the things I would love to see would be a manifesto for education,” she wrote. “A country cannot rise beyond its educational system. Nelson Mandela once said ‘Education is the most powerful weapon you can use to change the world.’ So how are we changing ours?”

Dr. Neal Allen — chair and associate Professor of Political Science— was recently interviewed by major news PBS Newshour and NBC Nightly News for his expertise on the upcoming Aug. 2 vote. His other interviews include the following:

Recently aired:

Allen was also quoted in the following articles on the topic.

In addition to these interviews, Allen has also been a panelist for the Kansas City Media Collaborative and American Public Square Zoom conversation, as well as for Kansas Week on PBS Kansas.

And on election night, Allen will be live on KAKE Channel 10.