November 19, 2021 — The Graduate School would like to congratulate the winners of the fourth Three-Minute Thesis competition which was held on Nov. 12. Fariha Tanveer, a master's student in biological sciences, placed first with the presentation "Developing a Human Patient 'Avatar' System Particularly Relevant to Head and Neck Squamous Cell Carcinoma (HNSCC). Tanveer's advisor was William Hendry. Tanveer will go on to represent WSU at the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools' 3MT competition this spring.
Photograph of Katie Cramer, Editor of Kansas English
November 19, 2021 — Kansas English, edited by Dr. Katherine Cramer, professor of English Education in the School of Education, and published by the Kansas Association of Teachers of English on Wichita State's Open Journal Systems, has been named a recipient of the 2021 National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) Affiliate Journal of Excellence Award, given by the NCTE. This is the second year in a row that Kansas English has earned this distinction.
FAFSA FUN Book Scholarship recipients FAFSA FUN Book Scholarship recipients. Wichita State University Office of Financial Aid. Diversity. Wichita State University Office of Diversity and Inclusion.
November 18, 2021 — On behalf of the Offices of Financial Aid and Diversity and Inclusion, we would like to thank the students who attended our FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) Fun Financial Aid workshops.
Picture of two WSU employees shopping for food at a grocery store.
November 17, 2021 — The Faculty and Staff Senate would like to thank Wichita State employees for the monetary and food donations made during the Stock the Shocker Support Locker Challenge in September and October. Congratulations to WSU staff for leading the competition this year!
Dr. Mythili Menon and Dr. Karissa Marble-Flint.
November 17, 2021 — The Center for Educational Technologies to Assist Refugee Learner’s Project Education for All (CETARL) won $25,000 at the United Way of the Plains Impact on the Plains Social Innovation Competition on National Philanthropy Day, Nov. 15. This was the United Way’s first ever shark-tank style social innovation competition. Dr. Mythili Menon is the director of CETARL and assistant professor of Linguistics. Dr. Karissa Marble-Flint is the co-director of CETARL and assistant Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders. They both represented CETARL at the competition. During the competition, Menon and  Marble-Flint made a pitch for Project Education for All in the live … Continue reading "Project Education for All wins United Way competition"
November 11, 2021 — A proposal by Drs. Mythili Menon and Karissa Marble-Flint was selected by the United Way of the Plains as the top two finalists for the Impact on the Plains Competition in the area of education. Menon is the director of the Center for Educational Technologies to Assist Refugee Learners (CETARL) and assistant Professor of Linguistics. Marble-Flint is the co-director of CETARL and assistant Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders.
Red, clear, and blue abstract glass trophy.
November 10, 2021 — Veterans Upward Bound (VUB), one of the TRIO Programs hosted by Wichita State, recently won the PBS Kansas Foulston Siefkin Veterans Coming Home Distinguished Business of the Year Award. The Director of the program, Stacia Lyday, accepted the award.
Picture of Stephanie C.
November 4, 2021 — Congratulations to Stephanie Cockrell, who was been named the assistant director for Student Success' First-Year Programs. Cockrell will begin this position in January 2022 and will oversee orientation and transition programs for undergraduate, degree-bound domestic students, transition mentors and peer coaches, and other first-year retention initiatives in Student Success.
Picture of Epsilon Tau Chapter of BAP volunteers at Exploration Place.
October 28, 2021 — Fifteen members of the Epsilon Tau Chapter of Beta Alpha Psi (BAP) volunteered at Exploration Place Oct. 23 for their Boo'reakfast event which benefitted both children and adults.
October 28, 2021 — Wichita State's Counseling and Prevention Services (CAPS) hosted its first Suspenders4Hope 5K. The event, which is part of a nationwide mental health awareness campaign, involved participation from WSU, Ascension Via Christi and Kohl's Cares. Members of CAPS say the community participation helped make the event a success. All proceeds from the event went to StopSuicideICT, a local collaborative and non-profit.