Honorees for President’s Distinguished Service Awards to be recognized May 3

The President’s Distinguished Service Awards will recognize faculty and staff for exemplary, dedicated and caring service to the Wichita State community Friday, May 3.

The reception to meet and greet the honorees is at 9 a.m. The recognition ceremony will begin at 9:30 a.m. in 141 Woolsey Hall, Fidelity Bank Room. Light refreshments will be served. Please RSVP by April 30.

Honorees were selected by their peers from the university’s Staff Senate and Faculty Senate. RSVP on the Shocker Pride Celebration homepage.

The 2024 President’s Distinguished Award honorees:

  • Faculty Senate:
    • Cheyla Clawson Chandler, associate professor and director, School of Performing Arts 
    • Mythili Menon, associate professor, Department of English   
    • Chelsea Redger-Marquardt, assistant dean, Cohen Honors College            
  • University Staff Senate:
    • Jessica Pierpoint, library patent and trademark specialist, University Libraries             
    • Gabriel Fonseca, director for diversity and inclusion, Office of Diversity and Inclusion      
    • Ken Wiseman, Go Create facility manager, Go Create Maker Space           
    • James Porter, exhibition designer and production manager, Ulrich Museum of Art    
  • University Staff Senate – Wayne Carlisle Award:
    • David Wright, chief data officer, Office of Academic Affairs and Research