Barton School announces the 2024 Jabara Scholars in Entrepreneurship

The Barton School of Business has named its two recipients of the 2024 Professor Fran Jabara Scholarship in Entrepreneurship. This year’s winners are Annika Lindeman from Eisenhower High School in Goddard, Kansas, and Abby Rexford from West Jessamine High School in Wilmore, Kentucky. They will each receive more than $32,700 spread over four years to attend WSU and major in entrepreneurship.

“The Barton School’s commitment to entrepreneurship goes beyond just lessons in the classroom,” said Dr. Larisa Genin, dean of the Barton School of Business. “These scholarships are a testament to remaining one of the premier institutions for entrepreneurship in the country. I’m excited to welcome Annika and Abby to the Barton family.”

The Jabara Scholarship is one of the largest of its kind nationally for future entrepreneurs. To qualify, a student must write an essay and have achieved at least a 24 score on their ACT, a 3.5 high school GPA and declare entrepreneurship as their major. The scholarship is named after the late Fran Jabara, who was a WSU faculty member for 40 years and founded the Center for Entrepreneurship at WSU. Along with serving as the dean of the College of Business Administration, Jabara received the Faculty Lifetime Achievement Award in 2001 and the President’s Medal in 2002.