Three high school seniors selected as 2024 Harry Gore Memorial Scholarship recipients

Wichita State University has selected the 2024 recipients of the Harry Gore Memorial Scholarships. Each student will receive a $64,000 scholarship to attend Wichita State University starting in August 2024.

The 2024 Gore Scholars are:

  • Karinton Newton, Summit Christian Academy (Missouri)
  • Karaline Scott, Goddard High School
  • Chloe Strecker, Eureka High School (Missouri)

The students competed in the Distinguished Scholarship Invitational in November, with 544 other students also competing. To be invited to compete in the invitational, students had to have a 27 or higher ACT score, a 3.5 or higher GPA, or rank in the top 10% of their class. Once invited, students completed an application, including essays, and competed in an on-campus leadership competition. Thirteen finalists came back to campus Jan. 18 for final interviews.

As with Gore Scholars before them, the three recipients this year are involved in their schools and communities and plan to do the same at Wichita State University.