Marie Bukowski elected as new member on the Commission on Accreditation for NASAD

Marie Bukowski, dean, College of Fine Arts, was elected by the membership at large to serve a three-year term on the Commission on Accreditation for the National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD).

Commissions of elected peer representatives of member institutions meet twice a year to review application materials including self-studies, visitors’ reports and optional responses to visitors’ reports. Commission action is the culminating synthesis function in the accreditation process. As such, the commission applies the standards of the association to institutional programs in art/design in a manner that preserves their uniqueness and supports their development, and makes recommendations that will help the institution develop its own best future for art and design.

This work is critical as it is responsible for affirming quality based on standards and for protecting institutional autonomy, programmatic innovation, artistic and academic freedom, and the mobility of credits and credentials. Bukowski’s three-year term starts in April 2024.