Barton School announces inaugural Hall of Fame members

The Barton School announced the selection of three distinguished industry leaders to be inducted into its inaugural “Beyond” Hall of Fame. The inaugural group of inductees will be recognized for their visionary leadership and outstanding contributions to the Barton School and community during an induction celebration Feb. 17, 2024:

  • Frank Barton: President of Barton Distributors from 1952 until 1979 and co-founder of Rent-A-Center in 1973 with partner Tom Devlin. In May 1987, he and his wife, Patsy, gave $12 million to endow WSU’s Business School, which was later dedicated in his name. He passed away in September 2000. His son, Craig Barton, will accept the honor on his behalf.
  • Clark Bastian: Chairman of the board at Fidelity Bank. He served a three-year term as chairman of the dean’s advisory board of the Barton School of Business. He is also a member of WSU’s National Advisory Council. He has served on numerous boards, including those of the Wichita Community Foundation, WSU Foundation and Rotary Club of Wichita.
  • Fran Jabara: Founded the Center for Entrepreneurship at WSU, which was the first of its kind on a college campus and has been recognized internationally as one of the finest, most comprehensive programs in the nation. He was a former dean of the Business School and in 1996, Jabara Hall was dedicated in his honor. Jabara passed away in 2015, and his family will accept the honor on his behalf.