WSU Professor L. Scott Miller named to hold Dutcher professorship

Scott Miller, chair of the Aerospace Engineering Department in the WSU College of Engineering, has been selected to hold the Emylou Keith and Betty Dutcher Faculty of Distinction Professorship at Wichita State University.

The professorship was endowed by Emylou Keith in 2004 to honor her sister, Betty Dutcher, upon her death. Both women were graduates of Wichita State. Keith died in 2017.

“To be selected for this honor is amazing,” Miller said. “I’m surrounded by so many dedicated, successful and hardworking faculty and colleagues. It’s nice to be supported and recognized by them. Although I never met the benefactors, I understand they were special people. I’ll do my best to honor their gift and intent.”

Miller has been Aerospace Engineering chair since 2004 and a professor at Wichita State since 1988. He is a senior fellow for the National Institute for Aviation Research. He also is director of the NASA in Kansas program, a consortium of universities and science museums that conduct science, technology, engineering and math (STEM)-based education and research. He earned his bachelor’s degree, master’s degree and Ph.D. in aerospace engineering from Texas A&M University.

Interim Executive Vice President and Provost Shirley Lefever made the appointment based on a recommendation from the WSU Council of Deans. In part, their letter stated: “Dr. Miller is a recognized leader in engineering, aerospace education and research. He is a highly respected and awarded aerospace engineer across the region and nation. He has made a tremendous impact on students, faculty and Kansas STEM education and research over the last 15 years.”

The professorship previously was held by Victor Isakov, professor of mathematics, who died in May 2021.